Where To Watch English Sport in Madrid

Watching Rugby in MadridIn Madrid-Uno‘s never ending search for different places to watch English sport in Spain’s capital city he has discovered one immutable rule – only Irish pubs exist if you wanna catch a match. As with all rules, there may be one exception. Madrid-Uno has found a Scottish pub as well. So, still celtic, but at least it’s a different colour.

It’s odd that there are no English pubs here, but it appears that the anglo expat crowd prefer to set up other types of businesses (like tea shops, grocery stores, book shops) and use the Irish bars as their spots for watching the premier league footy or rugby. I wondered if maybe there was an Irish mafia in town who would wreck the joint or burn it down if you tried to impinge on their action, but talking to some Spanish mates it appears that it’s more to do with perception. Madrileños associate pubs with Ireland and not with England, since we’re regarded as too ‘uptight’ to run a fun drinking place. Clearly I have some educating to do. The one major problem therefore is that there is no ‘proper’ beer on tap. It’s all disco fizz lager, Guinness and shitey Irish cider (Magners – yeuch). Oh for a bottle of Spitfire Premium Kentish Ale.

OK, so here’s the list and I’ll try and update later if alerted to new places. NB. Most of these pubs will also show American sports as well (especially American Football – NFL / AFL).

  • Bo’ Finns – C/. Velazquez, 97
  • Elcano Tavern – C/. Alonso Cano, 57
  • Finbars – C/. Marquéz de Urquijo, 10
  • Finnegan’s – Plaza de las Salesas
  • Larry’s – Alberto Alcocer, 7
  • Molly Malone’s – C/. Manuela Malasaña, 11
  • Moore’s & Co. – C/. Felipe III, 4
  • O’Connell St. / Dubliners – C/. Espoz y Mina, 7
  • O’Connors – C/. Almagro, 3
  • O’Neills – Principe, 12
  • Public House – C/. Fernandez de los Rios, 83
  • St. Patrick’s Abbey – C/. Puerto Rico, 35
  • The Celtic Cross – C/. Maldonado, 14
  • The Irish Rover – Avda del Brasil, 7
  • The James Joyce – C/. Alcalá, 59
  • The Quiet Man – C/. Valverde, 44
  • Triskel Tavern – C/. Vincente Ferrer 3
  • Finnegan’s is also the HQ of the Madrid Lions RFC

    46 responses to “Where To Watch English Sport in Madrid

    1. Hi! Thank you for the information. But can you tell me which of the following would you suggest for English football: Finbar´s, Molly Malone´s, Moore´s, O´Connell´s or O´Neill´s.

      Cheers.

      • Aaaah mate what a Godsend! I have just arrived in Madrid from London (3 days ago for a 3 month work stint) and have been struggling to find out where I can watch the World Cup.

        Any recommendations for tomorrows England USA game?

        Top Work! I will buy you a beer or 5 if I ever meet you.

        • Hey! Glad to help. If you want to join in with the Yanks try the Triskel Tavern in Malasaña – it’s one of the more popular hang outs for US sports fans. I’m going to Bo’ Finns. Details on these places in the article. COME ON ENGLAND.

    2. My personal favourite of the bars you mention is Molly Malone’s. I like the area (top of Malasana) and it has lots of screens.

      All the others are OK as well though. Moore´s and O´Connell´s (which are side by side) are best if you’re looking for a BIG screen and a party atmosphere – although for big evening matches expect a crush.

      enjoy!

      M1

    3. I am a Bristol City fan and can’t wait for the play off final on 24/5. Only problem is I will be on holidy in and around Madrid. Your info above is really helpful, but can you confirm that if the game is on Sky Sports in UK then it will be avialable to the above bars?
      Also, we are more likely to be in Avila on the Saturday afternoon, do you know if there is a bar in Avila that shows English football?
      Many thanks
      Mark

    4. Hi Mark,

      Congrats on yesterday’s result – I detest Palace so was happy to see you guys win.

      Yes, I can confirm that if the match is on Sky you will be able to watch it in Madrid. Not all of the bars I mention in my article / blog will show it – I recommend you go to the ones in central town – e.g. Molly Malone’s, O’Connors, Moore’s or Finnegan’s.

      BTW – they showed the first match on TVE2 (equivalent to our BBC2) and I saw that wonder goal at the end!

      Avila? No idea. Never been there.

      Suerte (good luck),

      M1

    5. Hi, 22 May is the day of the Scottish League deciders. Can you advise which pubs will be showing the Celtic game and which shall show the Rangers game.
      I have colleagues there who want to go their seperate ways for 2 hours!!!

      Thanks
      Tom

    6. Hi Tom,

      The bigger bars in central town will show all matches – all of those posted below operate several screens and are large enough to accommodate both sets of supporters and still have room for non-sports fan punters.

      Molly Malone’s – C/. Manuela Malasaña, 11
      Moore’s & Co. – C/. Felipe III, 4
      O’Connell St. / Dubliners – C/. Espoz y Mina, 7
      O’Connors – C/. Almagro, 3

      For the green and white fans in your group, they might consider Scottish owned and run The Celtic Cross – it’s in a posh part of town at C/. Maldonado, (nearest metro Diego de Leon) and the landlord’s affiliation is quite clear judging by the pennants and scarves hung up around the bar.

      Enjoy!

      M1

    7. hey, im an american living in madrid and was wondering if you know any places that will stay open late enough to play NBA basketball games, the finals start thursday and I would love to watch the games

    8. Hi Mike,

      I’m not a basketball fan (I’m English – we ignore the game) and also unsure what time the games are played Stateside so I can’t be 100% sure in my answer, but I will say that the large Irish pubs in Huertas / Sol (e.g. Dubliners) carry all U.S. sports and they stay open late – very late at weekends (like 4.00 am+) so that would probaly be your best bet. Otherwise, the Triskel Tavern (Malasaña) might also be worth enquiring at as this place always carries the NFL matches in its back room so maybe they’ll do the NBA too.

      You say live in Madrid – if so, you’ll know that the Spaniards love ‘baloncesto’, so I would rate the chances of seeing the games very high.

      suerte, tio.

      M1

    9. Hi,
      My name is brydie I am an Australian who is planning to be in madrid when the Australian Rules Football grand final will be on. I was wandering if you know of anywhere that i will be able to view it?

    10. Hi Brydie, hi everyone

      If you are looking for pubs/bar/cafeteria in madrid to see all English/australian/Spannish/… sports, visit http://www.barplayers.com

      Already 25pubs and bar are in and we are planning to get many more.

      Please don’t hesitate to let your coment, we need yours feedback to improve the website.

      Olive

    11. Does anyone know where I can watch the state of origin in Madrid? “state of origin” is the Australian rugby league game between queensland and new south wales. First game is this Wednesday. Any assistance would be much appreciated.

    12. Wimbledon. I have to watch Wimbledon. But where in Madrid?

      • Good question, James.

        All matches involving Spanish players, from 1st round ownards, are covered by the national broadcaster TVE (usually on La 2 – channel 2) so virtually any bar in town will therefore have these matches. No Nadal this year so coverage not quite as intense but today’s match Ferrero vs Murray will be live.

        Usually TVE also cover both semis and the final – whoever is playing, but again, ‘cos there’s no Nadal, I can’t be certain this will be the case this year. All I can say is try the bars on the list above and don’t be shy about asking the staff. I once needed to watch Norwich City vs Reading on Sky 2 (don’t ask…) and O’Connell’s put it on for just me on one screen in the corner. They aim to please.

        I’m guessing here, but Public House will probably have the BBC coverage on – it’s run by some Brits – and also Larry’s in the North of the city might be worth a shot – they usually cover English Cricket Test matches so maybe they’ll do Wimbledon too.

    13. Cheers for the tips! I’m an Aussie who’s just moved to Madrid from Barna and the last weekend of September (i.e. the AFL grand final) is fast approaching. Have you ever seen an AFL match here?

      • Hey Dave,

        I’ll put my hands up and admit I’ve not seen an AFL match whilst in Madrid. However, I know it will be shown ‘cos I just asked an Aussie mate and he said they showed last year’s final in O’Connell’s.

        If I go I expect you to buy me a schooner for the tips! I’ll be the bemused one with a posh English accent asking: “He just passed forward? Are they allowed to do that?”

    14. Hi

      I’m eagerly looking forward to the world cup and was wondering if you could recommend a good pub to watch the England games. I don’t want to be sitting on my own in a Madrid bar surrounded by disinterested locals!

      Thanks

      Tim

      • Hi Tim,

        There are a number of places frequented by expats keen to watch England play at rugby / football / cricket – My favourites are ‘Larry’s’ (nearest metro Cuzco) and Molly Malones (in Malasaña) – although I will say that Larry’s has proved unlucky for me (in terms of results on the pitch…) so I usually use Molly’s.

    15. Great. Thanks.

    16. Hi! I’m a spanish who is moving to Edinburgh in a few months!
      I was wondering if there are some scottish pub, but really really scottish, because I want to celebrate a kind of goodbye party before I leave.
      It would be a bit weird if I celebrate it in an irish pub. There are millions around the city, I really love them buuuut I’m not going there!
      It would be a big help if you know somewhere, if not I will do something in Molly Malone’s which is my favourite.
      Thanks!
      Cristina

    17. I’m from Washington and I’m going to be in Madrid from the 23rd to the 31st of December. Which of these pubs do you suggest will show ALL the Boxing Day matches?

      • And I’m not above 21 years old.

        • Don’t worry about the drinking age thing – as long as you’re over 18 no worries. Just check out the lists provided above and ask around. I’m sure you’ll find a suitable spot. They’re mad for all sports over here and foreigners are well-catered for.

    18. Well, I’m actually 16. I hope that’s not a problem. I’m I’m Madrid right now and looking for a place to catch the Chelsea-Arsenal battle later today!

    19. Hi!

      Off to Madrid next month and was wondering if any of the Irish pubs near Sol will be showing the 6 Nations Rugby games? Did some research and most seem to show plenty of football but no rugby. It will be on BBC, will that pose a problem?

      Thanks!

    20. Do any of these pubs have ESPN? Hoping to catch the FA Cup 4th round on the 30th January as my beloved Huddersfield Town will be playing against either Leeds Utd or Arsenal. Think i’ve got a chance??

      • Yes. Try the bigger pubs in the centre of town, close to Sol. Just ask the barmen if you don’t see it on one of the screens. I’ve seen Italians crowded round a screen for Palermo – Napoli as an example of the range of stuff you can get.

    21. hey M1 and everyone,

      Will be in Madrid in time for El Classico in April. We will not attend the match (too pricey) but would love to join in the fun. Are there any large screens or gatherings outside for the fans, apart from sitting in the pub? We’re from Melbourne and usually for the large events have huge screens outside where thousands of people gather.

      thanks

      • Hey Val,

        No, the match doesn’t usually occasion big screens for public gatherings but most of the pubs and bars will be full and it will be pretty clear which team is being supported.

        Enjoy!

    22. Looks like we’ll hit Molly Malone’s then.
      Perhaps you can share another piece of wisdom with us.. We’ve decided to see Real vs Valencia the following weekend. What is the best way / website to purchase tickets internationally.

      thanks mate

    23. Hi all

      QPR fan here – looking to watch the game tomorrow and then I’ve got tickets for Real v Mallorca (it will be my birthday after all). Which bar will be showing the QPR game – and which would be the best location if there are a few…..?

    24. Hi M1
      Thanks for the info.
      Another question; how about Formula One, particularly the BBC coverage, any place you know of that will be showing that?

      Cheers,
      Drew

      • errr, dunno about F1 BBC coverage, I watch the Spanish coverage which is excellent, as long as you don’t mind too much fawning over Alonso. The Spanish show all 3 days from Friday practice through to the race. Their version of Martin Brundle is an enthusiastic bald chap and can you often see him on the grid fighting with Brundle for pre-race interviews – and I mean fighting, with lots of elbows, shoving and catty asides. Hilarious!

    25. Hej Madrid1

      Finns det någon speciell pub i Madrid där Chelsea fans brukar samlas för att se på deras matcher?

    26. Wow! Looks like you’re doing a great job on this site, so well done you, and keep up the good work!

      I’ve got a slightly different query: obviously it’s Arsenal v United at 17:00 on Sunday, and as a Red, I have to watch it somewhere in Madrid. However, I also have a flight at 20:30 and my girlfriend is a bit stressy when it comes to getting to airports in plenty of time….

      Do you know if there anywhere to catch it in or around Barajas airport?

      Cheers

      Tommy

      • I don’t know of any places around Barajas – the best solution I can think of is that you could go to Larry’s (Avenida Alberto Alcocer, 7) which is close to Cuzco metro station which would leave you 2 stops from Nuevos Ministerios and then a further 40 mins or so to the airport – but remember it’s a slightly reduced service on a Sunday and you would be cutting it fine. I doubt the gf would appreciate that.

    27. You legend!

      Rugby league grand final this saturday so was desperate to find a pub, thanks to your list got two options now (Finnegans and Mollys)

      Cheers!
      Mark

    28. Hey, Not sure if you still keep this up to date or not, but I’ll be in Madrid over the Easter holidays and would love be able to watch Forest v Bristol City on Sat April 7th, but this will probably clash with a Premiership game. Is there anywhere that would show a Championship game as well as/instead of a Premiership game?

    29. Id suggest Mollys Dan,

      I wanted to watch little rugby league during the 6 nations – the guy at Mollys let me watch my own TV at back end of the pub – he even got a round of shots out when my team won!

    30. Hi, this website seems really helpful, thanks!

      I will be in Madrid on 13th May. Hoping to go to la caja magica to watch the tennis, but wondering if there are any pubs/bars near there that will be showing the football, as it will be the last weekend of the Premiership season. Also, do any places in Madrid have Sky Sports…?

    31. I went to a new bar called Mad Dogs, I suppose the name is a play on Mad Dogs and Englishmen…. It had a red English telephone box as the opening door to the English theme bar. There was a 60 inch 3DTV which showed endless sports and it seemed pretty cool.
      It was in Arguelles, c-Rodriguez San Pedro 9.

    32. go to Madrid in January and staying near Anton Martin station. Is there any pubs where I could catch the everton game on a Saturday 3pm ko (not on sky)?

    Leave a comment